Photo by Luis Monteiro

Today, I turn 28. I’ve always thought that 28 would be a beautiful age. Why? I’m not sure… Perhaps it is because     women are supposedly at their most confident and have the best hair, skin and sex of their lives. Do I really believe this? Well… This assumes that it’s all downhill after 28. And if that’s the case…Well. That’s. Just. Great. 🙂 I kid. Because the truth is, I’m really not alarmed. And while I look forward to the dazzling year that awaits, I’d like to reflect on some of the significant things that I have learned this year.

10 things I didn’t know until this year:

~ Love can make and break you at the same time.

~ Cough syrup doesn’t work.

~ Sunscreen. Daily. Period.

~ Fresh starts actually exist.

~ Empathy is the greatest virtue. From it, all virtues flow. Without it, all virtues are an act.

~ A person who is nice to you, but rude to the waiter, is not a nice person.

~ Keeping perspective is the greatest key to happiness. From a distance, even a bumpy road looks smooth.

~ God is there. Even when you can’t feel Him.

~ “What can I do?” is the most comforting phrase in the English language.

~ Fear of failure is a ticket to mediocrity. If you’re not failing from time to time, you’re not pushing yourself. And  if you’re not pushing yourself, you’re coasting.

 

 Thank you to everyone for the birthday wishes. I can’t wait to see what this new year brings. I love you all! xo

