Take a daring leap. Begin to pave your own trail. Listen to the whispers within your heart. Take micro-actions. Commit to change. Take responsibility for how you live your life. Embrace joy and release sorrow. Accept that within this moment, you can rewrite your story by taking one step in a different direction, followed by another step… one action at a time. Give yourself permission to dream big and chase those dreams everyday of your life.

At so many points in our lives and especially mine at this point in time, I find myself “not knowing” much more than usual. I’m in a period of transition after some time spent really grounding myself away from my academic identity and focusing on self-care. But with transition comes a plethora of unknowns. Because I’m in the midst of this transition, it’s difficult to see the big picture (hopefully that will come as I emerge from this period of time). I have dealt with uncertainty so much in the past few years that I don’t feel the fear that usually accompanies this time.

I am perfectly imperfect. I have embraced my personality enough to make it a part of who I am, for better or worse. And surprisingly, I have come to celebrate what makes me imperfect, to shed light on the parts of myself that aren’t cohesive or fit into a nice neat container. While part of me craves structure, routines, labels, and definitions, there is a huge part of me that wants to venture beyond the known, the safe and cozy comfort zone. For it’s through venturing off into side roads and unmapped territory that we can discover and create rather than steer solely in cruise control.

That’s where I am today and where I hope to be tomorrow, one step at a time nourishing the sparkly moments along the way as well as overcoming the less-than-sparkly moments that are always a part of the journey. I feel like I’m finally settling into my identity rather than trying to constantly redefine it. This is me… who I am, authentically and wholeheartedly.

